Thelonious Monk – The Unique Thelonious Monk


The seven-song Unique Thelonious Monk (1956) platter was the pianist’s second during his remarkable five-year tenure on Riverside. His debut for the label was the aptly titled Plays Duke Ellington (1955) and once again, on this disc, Monk’s song selection did not feature any original compositions. Rather, the well-chosen standards included exemplify and help further establish the pianist and bandleader within the context of familiar melodies at the head of a trio — consisting of Oscar Pettiford (bass) and Art Blakey (drums). Regarding the personnel, while Pettiford had also accompanied Monk on the Ellington sides, Blakey replaces Kenny Clarke. The trio struts and glides as Monk’s intricate fingering simultaneously displays his physical dexterity as well as his ability to play so deftly in the moment. Both attributes would resurface ten-fold once Monk began to animate his own compositions on the genre-defining Brilliant Corners (1956). (allmusic)

Personnel: Thelonious Monk (piano); Oscar Pettiford (bass); Kenny Clarke, Art Blakey (drums).


01. Liza (All The Clouds’ll Roll Away)
02. Memories Of You
03. Honeysuckle Rose
04. Darn That Dream
05. Tea For Two
06. You Are Too Beautiful
07. Just You, Just Me

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

3 Responses to “Thelonious Monk – The Unique Thelonious Monk”

  1. Paco's brother says:

    Art Blakey, Thelonious Monk, what a beautiful sunday!

  2. Luciano says:

    This blog is ‘The Unique’.. Thank you!!

  3. J docc says:

    Thanks again dOk…

Leave a Reply