Roy Ayers – Ubiquity


Roy Ayers’ leap to the Polydor label inaugurates his music’s evolution away from the more traditional jazz of his earlier Atlantic LPs toward the infectious, funk-inspired fusion that still divides critics and fans even decades after the fact. Although Ubiquity maintains one foot in Ayers’ hard bop origins, the record favors soulful grooves and sun-kissed textures that flirt openly and unapologetically with commercial tastes. Several cuts feature the male/female vocals that would become a hallmark of subsequent Ubiquity efforts, while mid-tempo instrumentals like “Pretty Brown Skin” and “The Painted Desert” feature evocatively cinematic arrangements and intriguing solos that unfurl like psychedelic freak flags. The crack supporting cast including bassist John Williams, keyboardist Harry Whitaker, and drummer Alphonso Mouzon proves equally effective on high-energy numbers like “Can You Dig It” and the Nat Adderley-penned “Hummin’ in the Sun,” which point the way to the mind-expanding funk Ayers would perfect across the sessions to follow. An outstanding record. (allmusic)


01. Pretty Brown Skin
02. Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head
03. I can’t Help Myself
04. Love
05. The Fuzz
06. Hummin’
07. Can You Dig It
08. Painted Desert
09. He Gives Us All His Love

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

5 Responses to “Roy Ayers – Ubiquity”

  1. Epokalypse says:

    Love the Black Monk’s beat on “Day & Night” using the “Hummin’” sample as well (Album with Ras G).
    And by the way thanks a bunch for all the good music man. Really nice ;)

  2. GreenPower says:

    Cover looks like Floyd’s Piper At the Gates of Dawn!

  3. elementone17 says:

    Kendrick lamar samples ‘hummin’ on section 80

  4. Kiefer Hyder says:

    This is a classic! Seriously love this album! Pretty Brown Skin, Love, Humming… MMMM MMM MMMMMM! such tasty grooves! Download this NOW!

  5. baffo says:

    thanx 4 all the good music!!!!

Leave a Reply