Parliament – Mothership Connection


George Clinton was the leader of a collective of funk musicians in the 70s who mostly recorded under two names: Parliament and Funkadelic. Together they were known as the P-funk collective, or Parliament-Funkadelic. The collective included several defectors from James Brown’s backing bands – including Bootsy Collins, Fred Wesley and Maceo Parker – who would go on to successful solo careers. They were also well-known for their theatrical live shows, which involved spaceships, light-shows and outrageous costumes. The P-Funk musicians would become a huge influence on hip-hop, and artists like Prince and Rick James.

Parliament mostly recorded for Casablanca, and while Funkadelic had a rockier sound, Parliament went all-out deep funk, with horns, keyboards and the bass guitar featuring prominently. Their most acclaimed album is Mothership Connection.

Personnel: Bootsi Collins, Calvin Simon, Fuzzy Haskins, Gary Shider, George Clinton, Glen Goins, Grady Thomas, Ray Davis (vocals); Bootsie Collins, Gary Cooper, Jerome Brailey, Tiki Fulwood (drums); Bootsie Collins, Cordell Mosson (bass); Bootsie Collins, Gary Shider, Glen Goins, Michael Hampton (guitar); Boom, Freed Wesley, Joe Farrell, Macco Parker, Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker (horns).


01. P. Funk (Wants To Get Funked Up)
02. Mothership Connection (Star Child)
03. Unfunky UFO
04. Supergroovalisticprosifunkstication
05. Handcuffs
06. Give Up The Funk (Tear The Roof Off The Sucker)
07. Night Of The Thumpasorus Peoples

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

4 Responses to “Parliament – Mothership Connection”

  1. Zach says:

    easily one of the best albums of all time! long live the FUNK!

  2. Gandhis hardrive says:

    one of my fav albums of all time, question could you do a series of post on funky psych, as well as psych soul?

  3. slowdevine says:

    P-Funk Classic.

Leave a Reply