Monk Higgins – Extra Soul Perception


Extra Soul Perception is one of Monk Higgins’ better pieces of work. He starts off with a moody build up with the title track that has strings hovering in the background while the sax and guitar play a little bit over the top. That leads right into the excellent Soul-jazz piece called The Look Of Slim with a nice drum and bass intro before the head nodding rhythm comes in. It’s by far the best tune. Then there’s the light and upbeat A Good Thing, a nice re-arrangement of Watermelon Man, the slow groove of Straight Ahead, the 60s sound of Collision In Black, and Poker Chips that sounds a bit like a Prestige Soul-Jazz number. (soulstrut)

Personnel: Monk Higgins (tenor, organ); Jim Horn (flute); Miles Grayson (piano, percussion); Alan Estes (vibes, percussion); Dee Ervin (percussion, organ); John Guerin (drums); Bob West, Ron Brown (bass); Jerry Williams (conga); Thomas Scott, William Peterson (trumpet); David A. Duke (french horn).


01. Extra Soul Perception
02. The Look Of Slim
03. A Good Thing
04. Watermelon Man
05. Straight Ahead
06. Canadian Sunset
07. Collision In Black
08. Just Around The Corner
09. Little Green Apples
10. Poker Chips
11. Sittin’ Duck
12. Doing It To Deff

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

One Response to “Monk Higgins – Extra Soul Perception”

  1. Ededdeddie says:

    I loooooooove this album. Anything by Monk is dopeness

Leave a Reply