J.J. Johnson & Kai Winding – The Great Kai And J.J.


This Impulse set (which was given the catalog number of A-1 when it first came out) was the first recorded reunion of trombonists J.J. Johnson and Kai Winding. Given a straight reissue on CD the music still sounds fresh and lively. With pianist Bill Evans, either Paul Chambers or Tommy Williams on bass and Roy Haynes or Art Taylor on drums, the two trombonists are in melodic and witty form on such tunes as “This Could Be the Start of Something Big,” “Blue Monk,” “Side by Side” and the “Theme from Picnic.” Recommended.

Personnel: J.J. Johnson (trombone); Kai Winding (trombone); Bill Evans (piano); Roy Hayes, Roy Haynes, Art Taylor (drums).


01. This Could Be The Start Of Something
02. Georgia On My Mind
03. Blue Monk
04. Judy
05. Alone Together
06. Side By Side
07. I Concentrate On You
08. Theme From Picnic
09. Trixie
10. Going, Going, Going!
11. Just For A Thrill

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

2 Responses to “J.J. Johnson & Kai Winding – The Great Kai And J.J.”

  1. Michele says:


  2. Paco's brother says:

    Al dente !

Leave a Reply