Quincy Jones – This Is How I Feel About Jazz


The music on this album is from a period when arranger Quincy Jones was a major part of the jazz world, rather than being content just to take bows for it. Six high-quality selections from a 1956 album offer logical, swinging, and often distinct arrangements with plenty of solos from the all-star cast (which includes Lucky Thompson on tenor, altoist Phil Woods, and trumpeter Art Farmer); highlights include “Stockholm Sweetnin’,” “Walkin’,” and “Sermonette.” The remainder of the CD reissues two-thirds of a slightly odd collection led and produced (but not arranged) by Jones. Originally titled Go West, Man, the LP was designed to show off the talents of West Coast arrangers Jimmy Giuffre, Lennie Niehaus, and Charlie Mariano. Three selections feature an alto summit with Benny Carter, Art Pepper, Herb Geller, and Charlie Mariano, and there are also some numbers with a sax section; three songs with a trumpet section had to be left out due to lack of space. Although these performances are enjoyable, it is the Quincy Jones charts that are most memorable, making one regret his decision in the early ’70s to leave jazz altogether. (allmusic.com)

Personnel: Quincy Jones (producer); Art Pepper, Benny Carter, Charlie Mariano, Gene Quill, Herb Geller, Phil Woods (alto saxophone); Jack Nimitz, Pepper Adams (baritone saxophone); Charles Mingus, Leroy Vinnega, Paul Chambers, Red Mitchell (bass); Charli Persip, Shelly Manne (Drums); Herbie Mann, Jerome Richardson (flute, tenor saxophone); Billy Taylor, Carle Perkins, Hank Jones, Lou Levy (piano); Bill Perkins, Buddy Collette, Bunny Bardach, Lucky Thompson, Walter Benton, Zoot Sims (tenor saxophone); Art Farmer, Ernie Glow, Ernie Royal, Joe Wilder (trumpet); Milt Jacksom (vibraphone).


01. Walkin’
02. Stockhold Sweetnin’
03. Evening In Paris
04. Sermonette
05. A Sleepin’ Bee
06. Boo’s Blues
07. Dancin’ Pants
08. Be My Guest
09. King Road Blues
10. Bright Moon
11. The Oom is Blues
12. Ballad Medley: What’s New/We’ll Be Together Again/Time On My Hands/You Go To My Head/Laura

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Quincy Jones – This Is How I Feel About Jazz”

  1. Timothy says:

    Thank you for this I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply