George Duke – The Aura Will Prevail


In 1975, George Duke was dabbling in R&B vocals. But instrumental jazz-fusion was still his primary focus, and he had yet to be played extensively on any of the genres’ stations. When The Aura Will Prevail came out that year, no one bought the LP for its occasional R&B vocal — the main attraction was Duke’s keyboard playing. “Fools” is a melancholy soul ballad that finds him singing lead and predicts what was to come on R&B-oriented releases like Don’t Let Go (1978) and Master of the Game (1979), but it isn’t typical of the album on the whole. This is a fusion effort first and foremost, and Duke has plenty of room to stretch out and improvise on instrumentals that range from the insistent “Floop de Loop” to the Brazilian-influenced “Malibu” (which shouldn’t be confused with the Hole/Courtney Love gem). Two of the songs were written or co-written by Frank Zappa: the fusion instrumental “Echidna’s Arf” and the gospel-minded soul item “Uncle Remus” (another tune that gives Duke a chance to sing lead). Without question, The Aura Will Prevail is among this artist’s finest fusion-oriented albums. (

Personnel: George Duke (keboards, vocals); Alphonso Johnson (bass); Leon “Ndugu” Chancler (durms); Airto Moreira (percussion); Sylvia Saint James (vocals); Kathy Woehrle (vocals).


01. Dawn
02. For Love
03. Foosh
04. Froop De Loop
05. Malibu
06. Fools
07. Echidna’s Arf
08. Uncle Remus
09. The Aura

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

2 Responses to “George Duke – The Aura Will Prevail”

  1. Max says:

    Woooooo! This if fire..

  2. Visionless says:

    Co-sign that statement. Cut no. 2 For Love was sampled by MF DOOM on I Hear Voices. For years I thought he got that beat from the opening of G-Force/Battle Of The Planets.

Leave a Reply