Sarah Vaughan – Swingin’ Easy


Swingin’ Easy is one of Sarah Vaughan’s lesser known albums for Emarcy, combining two separate trio sessions from 1954 and 1957. The earlier date includes pianist John Malachi (who also worked with singers like Dinah Washington, Billy Eckstine, and Al Hibbler, plus bassist Joe Benjamin and drummer Roy Haynes. Vaughan’s lush ballad technique is in full force in “Lover Man,” “Polka Dots and Moonbeams,” and “Body and Soul,” while she scats in a midtempo setting of “If I Knew Then (What I Knew Now)” and her own “Shulie a Bop.” The second trio include pianist Jimmy Jones, bassist Richard Davis, and Haynes. Aside from a brisk, miniature treatment of “Linger Awhile” and a playful setting of “I Cried for You,” the session is highlighted by a breezy “All of Me.” Vaughan is in terrific form throughout both dates, with the songs mostly running around the three-minute mark.


01. Shulie a Bop
02. Lover Man
03. I Cried for You
04. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
05. All of Me
06. Words Can’t Describe
07. Prelude toa Kiss
08. You Hit the Spot
09. Pennies from Heaven
10. If I Knew Then (What I Know Now)
11. Body and Soul
12. They Can’t Take That Away from Me
13. Linger Awhile

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

Leave a Reply