John Coltrane – Sun Ship


Following the release of A Love Supreme, John Coltrane entered into a year of furious creation, including the recording of dramatic, iconic works such as Ascension and Meditations. While many of his fans couldn’t make the leap of faith required for a sojourn into Coltrane’s emotive new sound, those who surrendered to the dramatic outside interplay of his classic quartet bore witness to spiritual transformations of enduring innovation. Recorded on August 26, 1965 (and not released until after his death), Sun Ship is Coltrane’s final recorded date with his famed quartet. Pharoah Sanders would join the group the following month, and pianist McCoy Tyner and drummer Elvin Jones would depart in January of 1966 to be replaced by Coltrane’s wife Alice and Rashied Ali. It is also one of the saxophonist’s most intense performances as well as a testament to the maturity and resourcefulness of his rhythm section. Sun Ship is also a fervent prelude for Coltrane’s final period of brave — and often musically perilous — transformation.

Personnel: John Coltrane (tenor saxophone); McCoy Tyner (piano); Jimmy Garrison (bass); Elvin Jones (drums).


01. Sun Ship
02. Dearly Beloved
03. Amen
04. Attaining
05. Ascent

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

8 Responses to “John Coltrane – Sun Ship”

  1. realneeto says:

    says your mediafire account’s been suspended dude :(

  2. hektorspyke says:

    as above :(

  3. Randy says:

    I got it to work

  4. les18e says:

    Awesome post. Thank you.

  5. Paco's brother says:

    Thanks, as usual a very good choice.

  6. Jo Deey says:

    Like always, Great post! Thanks

  7. Marcos says:

    just great! thanks a lot.

  8. Kool Thinks says:

    could y upload one more time?

Leave a Reply