Joe Farrell – Outback


A 1972 Grammy nominee for Best Jazz Performance by a Group, Joe Farrell’s Outback is “brilliant a stunner,” writes, “an album that is at least as inspired as anything Farrell ever recorded, and perhaps more so.” Joined here by Chick Corea, Elvin Jones and Airto, Farrell “pushes the envelope not only of his own previous conceptualism in jazz, but the CTI label’s envelope as well. For starters, this is not a funk, soul, or fusion date, but an adventurous, spacy tightrope-walking exercise between open-ended composition and improvisation. That said, there is plenty of soul in the playing, not only by Farrell, but by all the players.

Personnel: Joe Farrell (flute, alto flute, piccolo, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Chick Corea (electric piano); Elvin Jones (drums); Buster Williams (bass);  Airto Moreira (percussion).


01. Outback
02. Sound Down
03. Bleeding Orchid
04. November 68th

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

3 Responses to “Joe Farrell – Outback”

  1. Fred says:

    A CTI classic. Crazy jazz recorded by Rudy Van Gelder. As Sam Spade said, “It’s the stuff that dreams are made of.”

  2. Paul says:

    Links are dead, know of any active ones?
    Love the site!

Leave a Reply