Grover Washington Jr – A Secret Place


A Secret Place was produced by Creed Taylor and issued on his Kudu imprint, while the versatile David Matthews arranged the horn section. This lineup may not be surprising, but the scope of the recording is. Washington could have gone the easy route and followed up his R&B chart success with a series of uptempo, rousing tracks that leaned heavier on funk–in the style of the title tracks of both his previous albums, 1974′s Mister Magic and 1975′s Feel So Good. But he went in a different direction, at least partially. The bottom line on A Secret Place is that while the set did well commercially, it got nowhere near the critical praise of its predecessors. That’s a shame, because it is a truly fine album whose grooves and pleasures stand the test of time easily.(cduniverse)

Personnel: Grover Washington, Jr. (saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Eric Gale , Steve Khan (guitar); Gerry Niewood (saxophone, alto saxophone); John Gatchell, Randy Brecker (trumpet); Dave Grusin (piano); Anthony Jackson (bass instrument); Harvey Mason, Sr. (drums); Ralph MacDonald (percussion).


01. A Secret Place
02. Dolphin Dance
03. Not Yet
04. Love Makes It Better

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

One Response to “Grover Washington Jr – A Secret Place”

  1. VMG says:

    Such a beautiful title track

Leave a Reply