Dinah Washington – The Swingin’ Miss “D”


21 track expanded reissue of the complete classic 1956 album The Swinging Miss D, which reunited the vocalist with the arranging talents of Mr. Q himself, Quincy Jones. As a bonus, all of the other tunes from the same sessions (tracks 12 to 14), as well as seven Jazz standards from one of their 1955 dates have been added. Included here are Dinah’s wonderful renditions of ‘Blue Gardenia’ and ‘I’ll Close My Eyes’, both selected by Clint Eastwood for the soundtrack of his movie The Bridges of Madison County. Includes 12-page booklet. Essential Jazz Albums.

Personnel: Dinah Washington (vocals); Barry Galbraith (guitar); Hal McKusick (flute, alto saxophone); Anthony Ortega (clarinet, alto saxophone); Jerome Richardson, Lucky Thompson (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Danny Bank (bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Don Elliott (trumpet, vibraphone, xylophone, bongos); Clark Terry, Doc Severinsen, Ernie Royal, Joe Wilder, Bernie Glow, Jimmy Maxwell, Nick Travis, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Jimmy Cleveland, Quentin Jackson, Urbie Green (trombone); Tommy Mitchell (bass trombone); Clarence “Sleepy” Anderson (piano, celesta); Jimmy Crawford , Osie Johnson (drums).


01. They Didn’t Believe Me
02. You’re Crying
03. Makin’ Whoopee
04. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye
05. But Not For Me
06. Caravan
07. Perdido
08. Never Let Me Go
09. Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t My Baby
10. I’ll Close My Eyes
11. Somebody Loves Me
12. I’ll Drown In My Tears
13. You Let My Love Grow Cold
14. Bargain Day
15. Relax Max
16. Tears To Burn
17. The Kissing Way Home
18. I Know

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

4 Responses to “Dinah Washington – The Swingin’ Miss “D””

  1. frsn says:

    wow, what a line up on this one. urbie green! outstanding. and of course, an outstanding ‘caravan.’ thanks.

  2. les18e says:

    thank you.
    for several days now ‘download mediafire’ says “suspended account”. is rapidshare all thats available?

  3. francesco says:

    wow!! this is a great gift… thanks so much

Leave a Reply