Joe Lovano – Bird Songs


“I didn’t approach this as a tribute record,” states Joe Lovano, dispelling right off the bat any preconception that his new album Bird Songs—an exploration of the Charlie Parker songbook—is a mere retread. Lovano’s 22nd album for Blue Note Records (the release of which will mark his 20th year on the label) breaks the mold of Bird tribute records. Bird Songs is a thrillingly adventurous, thoroughly modern, and uniquely personal look at one of the most influential figures in jazz history by one of the most important voices in the music today.

Personnel: Joe Lovano (saxophone); James Weidman (piano); Esperanza Spalding (bass); Otis Brown III, Francisco Mela (drums, percussion).


01. Passport
02. Donna Lee
03. Barbados
04. Moose The Mooche
05. Lover Man
06. Birdyard
07. Ko Ko
08. Blues Collage
09. Dexterity
10. Dewey Square
11. Yardbird Suite

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

One Response to “Joe Lovano – Bird Songs”

  1. Barry Hunt says:

    You’re spoiling us now, Rappa – keep it up!

Leave a Reply