Horace Silver – Horace Silver And The Jazz Messengers


In 1954, pianist Horace Silver teamed with drummer Art Blakey to form a cooperative ensemble that would combine the dexterity and power of bebop with the mid-tempo, down-home grooves of blues and gospel music. The results are what would become known as hard bop, and the Jazz Messengers were one of the leading exponents of this significant era in jazz history. Before Silver’s departure and Blakey’s lifetime of leadership, this first major session by the original Jazz Messengers set the standard by which future incarnations of the group would be measured.

The tunes here are all Silver’s, save the bopping “Hankerin’” by tenor man Hank Mobley. Such cuts as the opening “Room 608,” the bluesy “Creepin’ In,” and “Hippy” are excellent examples of both Silver’s creative composing style and the Messengers’ signature sound. Of course, the most remembered tunes from the session are the classic “The Preacher” and “Doodlin’,” two quintessential hard bop standards. In all, this set is not only a stunning snapshot of one of the first groups of its kind but the very definition of a style that dominated jazz in the ’50s and ’60s and enjoyed a resurgence in the ’80s. (cduniverse)

Personnel: Horace Silver (piano); Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone); Kenny Dorham (trumpet); Doug Watkins (double bass); Art Blakey (drums).


01. Room 608
02. Creepin’ In
03. Stop Time
04. To Whom It May Concern
05. Hippy
06. The preacher
07. Hankerin’
08. Doodlin’

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

2 Responses to “Horace Silver – Horace Silver And The Jazz Messengers”

  1. Barry Hunt says:

    Lovely! Thank you.

  2. kMP says:

    Excellent post, thanks Rappamelo. The early Mobley recordings are some of my favorites.

Leave a Reply