Thelonious Monk – Underground


Underground was recorded in 1967, about 20 years into the career of this wholly distinctive and unorthodox pianist-composer. Whenever the understated saxophone talents of Charlie Rouse accompany Thelonious Monk, one is assured of an invigorating set of music–and this collection is no exception. Supported by Larry Gales on bass and the inimitable Ben Riley on drums, Monk and Rouse elaborate on immortal compositions like “Ugly Beauty.” On “In Walked Bud,” the quartet is joined by vocalist Jon Hendricks. With jagged themes and unusual variations of meter and key, Underground showcases an aging Monk’s still-brilliant eccentricity on the piano. A good bit looser than much of Monk’s earlier work, he and Rouse infuse this date with their tag-team humor and unrelenting musical enthusiasm. –Mitch Myers

Personnel: Thelonious Monk (piano); Jon Hendricks (vocals); Charlie Rouse (tenor saxophone); Larry Gales (bass); Ben Riley (drums).


01. Thelonious (Take 1)
02. Ugly Beauty (Take 5)
03. Raise Four
04. Boo Boo’s Birthday (Take 11)
05. Easy Street
06. Green Chimneys
07. In Walked Bud
08. Ugly Beauty (Take 4)
09. Boo Boo’s Birthday (Take 2)
10. Thelonious (Take 3)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

4 Responses to “Thelonious Monk – Underground”

  1. j-dips says:

    Best site hands down to get a dynamic range of quality music.

    Keep it up bruh!

  2. Barbiefresh says:

    @ J-dips
    So true!

  3. Marcos says:

    Great blog, great uploads, great music. Many Thanks.

    Just for information: the track 5 from monk’s album is corrupted.

Leave a Reply