Tribe – Rebirth


Detroit deep jazz legends Wendell Harrison, Phil Ranelin, Marcus Belgrave and Doug Hammond collaborate with Detroit hero Carl Craig to explore more deep afro-jazz territory! Pioneering techno Dj, Carl Craig has been weaving a jazz thread through the fabric of his music for many years, including his work with the Innerzone Orchestra in the mid 1990′s as well as his critically accliamed ‘Detoit Experiment’ which brought together jazz, funk, Motown, Hip Hop and electronic musicians. Carl Craig has reunited the original Tribe members on ‘Rebirth’ aswell as inviting new artists along the way; keyboardist Amp Fiddler, drummers Karriem Riggins and Gayelynn McKinney (Harold’s daughter!), bassists Ralphe Armstrong and many more. The results are amazing with Carl Craig adding his futuristic space-like synths to Phil Ranelin’s trombone-led classic ‘Vibes From The Tribe’, ‘Rebirth’ retains its original funk infused spritual jazz magic first created in the 1970′s whilst incorporating a fresh new sound! (

Personnel: Joan Belgrave (vocals); John Arnold (guitar); Keith Kaminski (saxophone); Mark Byerly (trumpet); John Rutherford (trombone); The Motor City Horns (horns); Kelvin Sholar (Fender Rhodes piano); Amp Fiddler, Pamela Wise (keyboards); Gayelynn Mckinney, Karriem Riggins (drums); Humberto “Andres” Hernandez (congas).


01. Livin’ In A New Day
02. Glue Finger
03. Denekas Chant
04. Vibes From The Tribe
05. Son Of Tribe
06. Jazz On The Run
07. Ride
08. Lesli
09. 13th And Senate
10. Where Am I

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

2 Responses to “Tribe – Rebirth”

  1. untchble says:

    Dope stuff, thanks!

  2. kaic says:

    Big Thanks for this great album, 2009 isn’t so far, so it’s jazz from the day….

Leave a Reply