Stan Getz – Sweet Rain


One of Stan Getz’s all-time greatest albums, Sweet Rain was his first major artistic coup after he closed the book on his bossa nova period, featuring an adventurous young group that pushed him to new heights in his solo statements. Pianist Chick Corea, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Grady Tate were all schooled in ’60s concepts of rhythm-section freedom, and their continually stimulating interplay helps open things up for Getz to embark on some long, soulful explorations (four of the five tracks are over seven minutes). The neat trick of Sweet Rain is that the advanced rhythm section work remains balanced with Getz’s customary loveliness and lyricism. Indeed, Getz plays with a searching, aching passion throughout the date, which undoubtedly helped Mike Gibbs’ title track become a standard after Getz’s tender treatment here. The quartet’s level of musicianship remains high on every selection, and the marvelously consistent atmosphere the album evokes places it among Getz’s very best. A surefire classic.  (allmusic)

Personnel: Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Albert Daily (piano); Chick Corea (electric piano); Stanley Clarke, George Mraz (bass); Tony Williams, Billy Hart (drums).


01. Litha
02. O Grande Amour
03. Sweet Rain
04. Con Alma
05. Windows

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

5 Responses to “Stan Getz – Sweet Rain”

  1. barry hunt says:

    Now this is a real Easter gift; grab it while you can. Thank you, Rappamelo.

  2. Phil says:

    thanks for the upload!!
    hope that you could get some more stan getz linked on your site. can’t find much of it on the internet.
    happy holidays!

  3. Tyvian Corry says:

    Wow, got this gem from you guys and I can’t stop playing the song “Con Alma”. I love the interplay of the piano solo and the drums. Got me feeling like Bill Cosby listening to this one. I hope you post more of Stan Getz!!!!! Genius and pure brilliance.

  4. Prime Conductor says:

    Thanks for posting. One of my favorite vinyls to spin. Every track is gorgeous.

Leave a Reply