Etta Jones – Don’t Go To Strangers


Don’t Go to Strangers was Etta Jones’ first album for the independent jazz label Prestige when it was released in 1960 (having been recorded in a single session on June 21 of that year), and although Jones had been releasing records since 1944, including a dozen sides for RCA in 1946 and an album for King Records in 1957, she was treated as an overnight sensation when the title tune from the album went gold, hitting the Top 40 on the pop charts and reaching number five on the R&B charts. An elegant ballad on an album that had several of them, including the masterful “If I Had You” and a marvelous reading of “All the Way,” a song usually identified with Frank Sinatra, “Don’t Go to Strangers” featured Jones’ airy, bluesy phrasing and uncanny sense of spacing, and was very much a jazz performance, making its success on the pop charts all the more amazing. Listen to Jones’ restructuring of the melody to the opening track, the old chestnut “Yes Sir, That’s My Baby,” to hear a gifted jazz singer sliding and shifting the tone center of a song like a veteran horn player, all the while leaving the melody still recognizable, but refreshing it until it stands revealed anew. Apparently there were no additional tracks cut at the session, since bonus material has never surfaced on any of the album’s subsequent reissues, although that’s hardly a problem, because as is, Don’t Go to Strangers is a perfect gem of a recording. ~ Steve Leggett

Personnel: Etta Jones (vocals); Etta Jones; George Duvivier (upright bass); Skeeter Best (guitar); Frank Wess (flute, tenor saxophone); Richard Wyands (piano); Roy Haynes (drums).


01. Yes Sir, That’s My Baby
02. Don’t Go to Strangers
03. I Love Paris
04. Fine and Mellow
05. Where or When
06. If I Had You
07. On the Street Where You Live
08. Something to Remember You By
09. Bye Bye Blackbird
10. All the Way

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

4 Responses to “Etta Jones – Don’t Go To Strangers”

  1. sudzy says:

    Thanks. I just found your blog. Much music to enjoy. Cheers from southern California.

  2. Albert says:

    This website has got to be the best discovery I’ve made in a long while. Not entirely sure how I stumbled on here [probably from some obscure search on Google] but very glad I did.

    Cheers from London ;-)

    P.S. Many thanks for updating the link to the Yasmine Bey Mixtape.

  3. Bob says:

    Many thanks from North Wales, UK

  4. OSMOSIS says:

    As a indie musician myself, I find your site–also, “discovered by accident”–to be an education. Keep it groovin’.

Leave a Reply