Cannonball Adderley with Bill Evans – Know What I Mean?


Alto saxist Cannonball Adderly and pianist Bill Evans, bandmates on Miles Davis’s epochal Kind of Blue, were band leaders by the time they teamed up in 1961 for this moody, yet lyrical, date. Though remastered with state-of-the-art digital technology, Riverside has kept the original artwork and liner notes, maintaining the flavor of this classic jazz LP. Adderly’s robust, bluesy tone and buoyant phrasing make for an interesting contrast to Evans’s rainy-day introspection. Coupled with the light touch of drummer Connie Kay and the gentle probing of bassist Percy Heath, the music projects a sophisticated and relaxed mood. On the sensitive ballads, such as “Goodbye” and “Elsa,” Adderly reveals his after-hours side, reveling in the fullness of his rich sound. –Wally Shoup


01. Waltz for Debby
02. Goodbye
03. Who Cares? (Take 5)
04. Who Cares? (Take 4)
05. Venice
06. Toy
07. Elsa
08. Nancy (With the Laughing Face)
09. Know What I Mean? (Re-Take 7)
10. Know What I Mean? (Take 12)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

5 Responses to “Cannonball Adderley with Bill Evans – Know What I Mean?”

  1. barry hunt says:

    Terrific lineup, great ensemble playing – superb! Thank you.

  2. t.h. says:

    Thanks a lot, it is really cool.

  3. giedrius says:

    wonderful album!!!!!

  4. gangangan says:

    thank you sir!

  5. rintesh says:

    Thanks a lot! I’ve been looking for this for a long time. Had this on vinyle a long time ago!

Leave a Reply