Bill Evans Trio – Sunday At The Village Vanguard


This live recording by the Bill Evans Trio at the Village Vanguard on June 25, 1961, marked the end of one of the most sublime instrumental combinations in jazz history when bassist Scott LaFaro died in a car accident 10 days later. This unit is underdocumented because Evans, a notorious perfectionist, was reluctant to record. The interchange between Evans on piano, LaFaro on bass and Paul Motian on drums is balletic in its balance of emotional beauty and technical precision. Multiple takes of “Gloria’s Step,” “Alice in Wonderland,” “All of You,” and “Jade Visions” show how the invention these players brought to each performance makes repeated material sound like movements in a suite. –John Swenson


01. Gloria’s Step (Take 2)
02. My Man’s Gone Now
03. Solar
04. Alice in Wonderland (Take 2)
05. All of You (Take 2)
06. Jade Visions (Take 2)
07. Gloria’s Step (Take 3)
08. Alice in Wonderland (Take 1)
09. All of You (Take 3)
10. Jade Visions (Take 1)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

One Response to “Bill Evans Trio – Sunday At The Village Vanguard”

  1. Outis says:

    I woulda copped this if I hadn’t already picked this up from the library.

Leave a Reply