The Unity Sextet – The Unity Sextet


Buddy Franco, Fats Young Jr., Cassius Farqhuar, Junior Oliver, Chuck Waldron and ‘Fat Thumbs’ Ronnie met in spring of 2011 whilst playing at different jazz festivals in different bands with different genres ranging from traditional to experimental jazz. Buddy Franco had an idea: being friends with renowned producer and Freestyle Records recording artist Lack of Afro, he asked him whether he would be up for an impromptu, spontaneous session and act as producer, arranger and engineer.

Said and done: The Unity Sextet was formed a couple of weeks later, setting up shop in the former warehouse (now recording studio) known as The Playhouse. They lived and worked there through to the end of the summer before moving to Lack of Afro’s studio in a former factory just down the road near Exeter. The result of the session is simply called „The Unity Sextet“ and features thirteen original tracks.

For more info and buy check:


01. One For People (Part 1)
02. The Arrow
03. Ten Days (Parts 1 & 2)
04. Interlude 1
05. Right Now!
06. Us Six
07. Do Me a Fredo
08. Interlude 2
09. Black Pearl
10. Swing Swang Swingin
11. Dance of the Pharaohs
12. Interlude 3
13. Until the Next Time

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

2 Responses to “The Unity Sextet – The Unity Sextet”

  1. jay says:

    crushin. good lookin out.

  2. pj says:

    really good !

Leave a Reply