Donald Byrd – Byrd in Flight


By the time of this fourth Blue Note album by trumpeter Donald Byrd, it became clear that his playing was becoming stronger with the passing of time. This album features separate studio sessions from January and July of 1960 with constants Duke Pearson on piano and drummer Lex Humphries. Bassists Doug Watkins and Reggie Workman split duties six tracks to three, as do tenor saxophonist Hank Mobley and alto saxophonist Jackie McLean, making for some interesting sonic combinations, although Byrd is the dominant voice. Several of these selections are penned by Byrd, but it is pianist Pearson who contributes four of the most potent compositions on Byrd in Flight, supplying the wings for these quintet recordings to take off with.

Personnel: Donald Byrd (trumpet); Jackie McLean (alto saxophone); Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone); Duke Pearson (piano); Reggie Workman, Doug Watkins (bass); Lex Humphries (drums).


01. Ghana
02. Little Boy Blue
03. Gate city
04. Lex
05. Bo
06. My Girl Shirl
07. Child’s Play
08. Carol
09. Soulful Kiddy

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

Leave a Reply