Tina Brooks – Back To The Tracks


Back to the Tracks is an album by hard-bop tenor Tina Brooks recorded in 1960 and released posthumously. The tracks first appeared on a Mosaic 12″ LP (MR4-106) entitled The Complete Blue Note Recordings of The Tina Brooks Quintets. The album was originally intended as BLP 4052, but, for some reason, it was shelved at the time. Only on January 27, 1998, Rudy Van Gelder decided to release the session in its entirety on a remastered Blue Note CD (purple cover, Blue Note 21737), then reissued in 2006 (green cover, BST 84052). Both editions are now out-of-print. A song recorded during the session, “David the King”, was rejected since it “never made it to releasable quality”. Said piece, however, made it to Brooks’ final recording for Blue Note, The Waiting Game.

Personnel: Tina Brooks (tenor saxophones); Kenny Drew (piano); Paul Chambers (bass); Art Taylor (drums); Blue Mitchell (trumpet); Jackie MCLean (alto saxophone).


01. Back To The Tracks
02. Street Singer
03. The Blues and I
04. For Heaven’s Sake
05. The Ruby And The Pearl

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

One Response to “Tina Brooks – Back To The Tracks”

  1. Michele says:

    Gotta lotta love for Tina!

Leave a Reply