John Coltrane – Coltrane’s Sound


The October 1960 sessions which comprise Coltrane’s Sound present a portrait of the John Coltrane Quartet in its infancy, yet many of the mature elements which were to distinguish the group during its primacy are already in place. Coltrane’s Sound was among the last releases to emerge from his Atlantic sessions, but, in some ways, it’s among the most satisfying.

John Coltrane’s search for the ideal rhythm section coincided with his transition from hard bop to the emerging modal stylings first suggested by Miles Davis on Kind Of Blue. Elvin Jones’ polyrhythmic inventions exploited the tension between triplets and eighth notes, and with his unique cymbal sound and powerful technique, Jones perfected a new rhythmic style of phrasing. Pianist McCoy Tyner offered a rich harmonic palette and a supple lyric dimension. He was able to play convincingly in hard bop and ballad modes, yet he also understood how to reinforce Elvin Jones’ rhythmic ideas and feed the saxophonist droning chordal support that didn’t limit Trane to any conventional chordal cycles. Bassist Steve Davis would soon be supplanted, but he sensed Coltrane’s new rhythmic priorities, and moved comfortably from vamping ostinatos to pulsing swing.

Personnel: John Coltrane (soprano & tenor saxophones); McCoy Tyner (piano); Steve Davis (bass); Elvin Jones (drums).


01. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes
02. Central Park West
03. Liberia
04. Body and Soul
05. Equinox
06. Satellite
07. 26-2

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “John Coltrane – Coltrane’s Sound”

  1. Michele says:

    Love this!!! THANX!

    Just note the record is from 1960, not 1964.

    Thanx again!!!

Leave a Reply