Chick Corea / Eddie Gomez / Paul Motian – Further Explorations


The contributions of pianist, composer, arranger and bandleader Bill Evans to the language and appreciation of jazz continue to have a profound influence on musicians. Join master pianist Chick Corea as he leads original Evans alumni – bassist Eddie Gomez and the late drummer Paul Motian – on Further Explorations, a two-CD live set of 19 tracks. The spirit of Evans comes alive thanks to the vibrant simpatico shared by these three master musicians.

Produced by Corea, Further Explorations was recorded May 4-17, 2010, live at the Blue Note in New York City. (2011 marks the 50th anniversary of the release of Evans’ original Explorations LP with Motian and bassist Scott LaFaro on the Riverside label.) In preparation, Corea, Gomez and Motian examined the entire Bill Evans discography. Rather than approach the music as a tribute, his material provides more of a template. Each musician also contributes original material. The results are inspired, as this elevated piano trio plays with near-telepathic empathy and a remarkable blend of ingenuity and emotional depth.


01. Peri’s Scope
03. Gloria’s Step
03. They Say That Falling In Love Is Wonderful
04. Alice in Wonderland
05. Song No.1
06. Diane
07. Off The Cuff
08. Laurie
09. Bill Evans
10. little Rootie Tootie

01. Hot House
02. Mode VI
03. Another Tango
04. Turn Out The Stars
05. Rhapsody
06. Very Early
07. But Beautiful Part I
08. But Beautiful Part II
09. Puccini’s Walk

link removed CD1
link removed CD2

link removed CD1
link removed CD2

2 Responses to “Chick Corea / Eddie Gomez / Paul Motian – Further Explorations”

  1. Barry Hunt says:

    Beautiful! Thank you.

  2. Paco's brother says:

    Chic !
    Muchas gracias

Leave a Reply