The Incredible Jimmy Smith – Crazy! Baby


Unlike most of the Jimmy Smith recordings from the era, this CD reissue (which adds “If I Should Lose You” and “When Lights Are Low” to the original LP program) features organist Jimmy Smith’s regular group (rather than an all-star band). With guitarist Quentin Warren and drummer Donald Bailey completing the trio, Smith is heard in peak form on swinging and soulful versions of such tunes as “When Johnny Comes Marching Home,” “Makin’ Whoopee,” “Sonnymoon for Two,” and “Mack the Knife.” Despite claims and some strong challenges by others, there has never been a jazz organist on the level of Jimmy Smith.

Personnel: Jimmy Smith (organ); Quentin Warren (guitar); Donald Bailey (drums).


01. When Johnny Comes Marching Home
02. Makin’ Whoopee
03. A Night In Tunisia
04. Sonnymoon For Two
05. Mack The Knife
06. What’s New
07. Alfredo
08. If I Should Lose You
09. When Lights Are Low

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

2 Responses to “The Incredible Jimmy Smith – Crazy! Baby”

  1. Marco says:

    That cover looks shopped. I can tell from some of the pixels, and from seeing quite a few shops in my time.

    Thank you, amazing album!

  2. Paco's brother says:

    Merci encore et encore pour le partage.

Leave a Reply