Milt Jackson – Bags’ Opus


Vibraphonist Milt Jackson welcomes the two future co-leaders of The Jazztet (trumpeter Art Farmer and tenor-saxophonist Benny Golson) along with a fine rhythm section (pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Connie Kay) on this CD reissue. The repertoire (which includes early versions of Golson’s “Whisper Not” and “I Remember Clifford” in addition to two standards, a Milt Jackson blues and John Lewis’s “Afternoon in Paris”) is very much in The Jazztet hard bop vein and Jackson fits in very well with the two lyrical horn soloists. A successful outing by some of the greats.

Personnel: Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Benny Golson (tenor saxophone); Art Farmer (trumpet); Tommy Flanagan (piano); Paul Chambers (bass); Connie Kay (drums).


01. Ill Wind
02. Blues For Diahann
03. Afternoon In Paris
04. I Remember Clifford
05. Thinking Of You
06. Whisper Not

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

Leave a Reply