Duke Pearson – The Right Touch


Duke Pearson rises to the challenge of writing for an all-star octet (with trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, trombonist Garnett Brown, altoist James Spaulding, Jerry Dodgion on alto and flute, Stanley Turrentine on tenor, bassist Gene Taylor, drummer Grady Tate, and the leader/pianist), contributing colorful frameworks and consistently challenging compositions. The set is full of diverse melodies (the CD reissue has a previously unissued take of “Los Malos Hombres”) played by a variety of distinctive soloists; many of these songs deserve to be revived. This is one of the finest recordings of Duke Pearson’s career.

Personnel: Duke Pearson (piano); Freddie Hubbard (trumpet); Garnett Brown (trombone); Jerry Dodgion (alto saxophone, flute); James Spaulding (alto saxophone); Stanley Turrentine (tenor saxophone); Gene Taylor (bass); Grady Tate (drums).


01. Chili Peppers
02. Make It Good
03. My Love Waits (O Meu Amor Espera)
04. Los Malos Hombres
05. Scrap Iron
06. Rotary
07. Los Malos Hombres (Alternate Take)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

Leave a Reply