Ambrose Akinmusire – When The Heart Emerges Glistening


Co-produced by Akinmusire and his label mate and mentor Jason Moran, the album’s 12 songs (10 of which were composed by Akinmusire) feature the 28-year-old trumpeter’s young quintet (tenor saxophonist Walter Smith III, pianist Gerald Clayton, bassist Harish Raghavan, and drummer Justin Brown), a close-knit group of longtime friends and frequent collaborators that breathes a remarkable collective identity. The New York Times wrote that the quintet “seems destined for much wider recognition,” and described their unique sound as “limber, straight-ahead jazz with mystery and pop instincts that gets around most of the old, pervasive mainstream influences, both of trumpet playing and bandleading.”

For more info and buy check:


01. Confessions To My Unborn Daughter
02. Jaya
03. Henya Bass Intro
04. Henya
05. Far But Few Between
06. With Love
07. Regret (No More)
08. Ayneh (Cora)
09. My Name is Oscar
10. The Walls Of Lechuguilla
11. What’s New
12. Tear Stained Suicide Manifesto
13. Ayneh (Campbell)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

2 Responses to “Ambrose Akinmusire – When The Heart Emerges Glistening”

  1. BR says:

    Thank you for posting this exquisitely beautiful Ambrose Akinmusire album & for everything else you’ve shared. There’s no other music site on the web that’s as consistently interesting as yours.

  2. FRY says:

    3/24 live in bergamo, italy!

Leave a Reply