Duke Pearson – Sweet Honey Bee


Pianist/composer Duke Pearson leads an all-star group on this run-through of seven of his compositions. The musicians (trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, altoist James Spaulding, Joe Henderson on tenor, bassist Ron Carter, drummer Mickey Roker, and the pianist/leader) are actually more impressive than many of the compositions, although the swinging minor-toned “Big Bertha” deserved to become a standard. The frameworks are quite intelligent (and everyone doesn’t solo on each selection), and the improvisations are concise and clearly related to each tune’s melody and mood.

Personnel: Duke Pearson (piano); James Spaulding (alto saxophone, flute); Joe Henderson (tenor saxophone); Freddie Hubbard (trumpet); Ron Carter (bass); Mickey Roker (drums).


01. Sweet Honey Bee
02. Sudel
03. After The Rain
04. Gaslight
05. Big Bertha
06. Empathy
07. Ready Rudy?

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

2 Responses to “Duke Pearson – Sweet Honey Bee”

  1. kev says:

    Damn, you are on a roll. Outstanding selection. Anything Henderson plays on is a must-have.

  2. icoisa says:

    thanks to everybody and Rappamelo for the grat music in there. Happy new year to all the “good listeners”.

Leave a Reply