Tina Brooks – True Blue


With a strong, smooth tone and an amazing flow of fresh ideas every time he soloed, tenor saxophonist Tina Brooks should have been a major jazz artist, but his legacy is confined to a series of dates that he did for Blue Note as a sideman and leader. “True Blue” is the only album under his own name to come out in his lifetime. He and Freddie Hubbard had recorded Hubbard’s “Open Sesame” a week earlier. Based on these two albums alone, Brooks should have been recognized as an important new voice in jazz. This CD adds to two alternate takes to the original LP.

Personnel: Tina Brooks (tenor saxophone); Tina Brooks; Sam Jones (double bass); Freddie Hubbard (trumpet); Duke Jordan (piano); Art Taylor (drums).


01. Good Old Soul
02. Up Tight’s Creek
03. Theme For Doris
04. True Blue
05. Miss Hazel
06. Nothing Ever Changes My Love For You
07. True Blue (Alternate Take)
08. Good Old Soul (Alternate Take)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

Leave a Reply