Steve Kuhn – Three Waves


Predictable is not an adjective associated with the recordings of pianist Steve Kuhn. He is joined by bassist Steve Swallow and drummer Pete La Roca for this exciting studio session from the mid-1960s, both of whom he had worked with under Art Farmer, as well as on La Roca’s smashing debut as a leader, Basra. With the exception of “Ida Lupino” and “Never Let Me Go,” the music will likely be unfamiliar to most jazz fans, but adventurous souls are in for a treat. Kuhn’s originals include the furious modal work “Bits and Pieces,” which sounds as if it represents the center of a storm, as well as “Today I Am a Man,” which suggests a well-known composition from the heyday of the bop era. “Why Did I Choose You” is played with a soft bossa nova accent, while Sergio Mihanovich’s “Three Waves” is intense, with overlapping changes of rhythm. “Never Let Me Go,” a favorite of singers, is understated and subtle, only hinting briefly at the melody.

Steve Kuhn Trio: Steve Kuhn (piano); Steve Swallow (bass); Pete LaRoca (drums).


01. Ida Lupino
02. Ah, Moore
03. Today I Am a Man
04. Memory
05. Why Did i Choose You
06. Three Waves
07. Never Let Me Go
08. Bits and Pieces
09. Kodpiece

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

One Response to “Steve Kuhn – Three Waves”

  1. D says:

    Great album! Been listening to it maybe ten times in the last 3-4 days.

Leave a Reply