Elizabeth Shepherd – Heavy Falls The Night


Elizabeth Shepherd is among Canada’s most promising young talents and she has the widespread critical acclaim to prove it. Heavy Falls the Night takes the listener on an unpredictable musical ride. It’s hard to pick a favourite track from such an eclectic album but, depending on your taste, it could be the dancefloor ready Seven Bucks, co-produced by Japanese mixmaster DJ Mitsu The Beats (Dwele, Jose James), and inspired by an NFB documentary. Or it could be The Taking – Shepherd’s powerful tribute to the women who came before her – knocked out in Jazz 11/8 time. Or maybe it’s the supremely soulful reworking of Anne Murray’s 70s soft-rock radio staple Danny’s Song, one of the few secular songs that made it past the gatekeepers in Shepherd’s Salvation Army childhood home.

Elizabeth’s rhythmically intricate, groove-oriented tunes, sincere lyrics and distinct, soulful voice have earned her a worldwide following, and her fans will certainly not be disappointed by the explorations on this new record. Critics, hipsters and music aficionados from London to Tokyo have been spreading the word for a few years now, and will surely continue to embrace her music. But more importantly, with Heavy Falls the Night, Elizabeth Shepherd is destined to reach music lovers everywhere.

For more info and buy check: www.elizabethshepherd.com


01. What Elese
02. The Taking
03. Heavy Falls The Night
04. Numbers
05. Seven Bucks
06. One More Day
07. A Song For Dina Washington
08. High
09. It’s Coming
10. On The Insufficiency Of Words
11. Danny’s Song

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

Leave a Reply