Roy Hargrove & The RH Factor – Distractions


Distractions is jam-packed with new jams from The RH Factor. From the old-school vibe of “Crazy Race” to the down-and-dirty instrumental “Kansas City Funk,” this much-anticipated disc grooves with an organic funk/soul sound. It is yet another world that Hargrove lives in comfortably, and he once again shows off his talents as a composer. He wrote or co-wrote nearly all of Distractions’ nine compositions including “Can’t Stop” and the title track, an extended jam captured here in four parts.

The largesse of sound created by the RH Factor comes from the band’s lineup of two drummers (Willie Jones III and Jason “JT” Thomas), two bass players (Lenny Stalworth and Reggie Washington), one guitar player (Todd Parsnow), three keyboard players (Charles McCambell, Bobby Sparks and Neufville), and two saxophone players (Keith Anderson and special guest David “Fathead” Newman). Hargrove plays both trumpet and flugelhorn here.


01. Distractions (Intro)
02. Crazy Race
03. Kansas City Funk
04. On The One
05. Family
06. Distractions 2
07. A Place
08. Hold On
09. Bull***t
10. Distractions 3
11. Can’t Stop
12. Distractions 4

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

4 Responses to “Roy Hargrove & The RH Factor – Distractions”

  1. Dblackulate says:

    This album is incredible, glad you posted it for the people who may have missed it. Hard Groove is another good album.

  2. chackie chan says:

    this album is hot! good stuff. re dblackulate (lol), i fucking love this site.

  3. Crimzon says:

    Dblack put me on to this awhile back. Very nice album

  4. Chopsy says:

    Awesome site – thanks for all your work in spreading good music!

Leave a Reply