Lou Donaldson – Alligator Bogaloo


Alligator Bogaloo is one example of Lou Donaldson’s successful combinations of hard bop and soul-jazz. Of the six tunes, three are Donaldson originals, including the title hit. The excellent band, consisting of Melvin Lastin, Sr. on cornet, George Benson on guitar, Lonnie Smith on organ, and Leo Morris on drums, mixes laid-back vamps beneath driving hard bop charts. As the ’60s turned into the ’70s, Donaldson began shaving off hard bop invention for a more radio-friendly and 45 rpm length, leaving soulful — yet monotonous — vamping. At that point, Donaldson’s material suffered from a lack of originality. That’s not the case on Alligator Bogaloo.


01. Alligator Bogaloo
02. One Cylinder
03. The Thang
04. Aw Shucks!
05. Rev. Moses
06. I Want A Little Girl

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

3 Responses to “Lou Donaldson – Alligator Bogaloo”

  1. bmack225 says:

    Much thanks!!!

  2. eric says:


  3. Ben says:

    Leo Morris aka Idris Muhammad on drums. Such a great album.

Leave a Reply