Duke Pearson – Wahoo!


A truly wonderful advanced hard bop date, Wahoo captures pianist Duke Pearson at his most adventurous and creative. With the exception of Donald Byrd’s closing “Fly Little Bird Fly,” Pearson wrote all of the material on this six-song album, and his compositions are clever, melodic, and unpredictable without being cloying or inaccessible. He has assembled a first-rate sextet to perform the material, enlisting trumpeter Byrd, tenor saxophonist Joe Henderson, bassist Bob Cranshaw, alto saxophonist/flautist James Spaulding, and drummer Mickey Roker. Even the subdued “Wahoo” and “ESP” search out new territory with their subtle themes and exploratory solo sections. The key to the success of Wahoo is that Duke Pearson is a gifted arranger, creating nimble, challenging arrangements that are accessible, but reveal more details upon each listen. As a pianist, he has moved beyond his initial Bud Powell influence and reveals new aspects of his technique. Henderson, Byrd, and Spaulding are equally impressive, helping elevate Wahoo to one of the finest sophisticated hard bop dates Blue Note released in the mid-’60s. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Personnel includes: Duke Pearson, Donald Byrd, Joe Henderson, James Spaulding, Bob Cranshaw, Mickey Roker.


01. Amanda
02. Bedouin
03. Farewell Machelle
04. Wahoo
05. Esp (Extransensory Perception)
06. Fly Little Bird Fly

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Duke Pearson – Wahoo!”

  1. bobbysu says:

    Happy New Year

Leave a Reply