Dexter Gordon – One Flight Up


Gordon takes his time stretching out over the forms, which are particularly drawn out to begin with. Drew’s “Coppin’ the Haven” is a more concise continuation of the effort to reconcile the modal approach with the use of more bop-like changes. “Darn That Dream,” a ballad feature for the leader, is done as a quartet, as is the one Gordon composition “Kong Neptune,” a track not released on the original LP. A particularly interesting aspect of this disc is the chance to hear bassist Niels–Henning Orsted Pedersen making one of his earliest recorded appearances.

Personnel: Dexter Gordon (tenor saxophone); Dexter Gordon; Donald Byrd (trumpet); Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen (bass instrument); Kenny Drew (piano); Art Taylor (drums)


01. Tanya
02. Coppin’ The Haven
03. Darn That Dream
04. Kong Neptune

link removed

2 Responses to “Dexter Gordon – One Flight Up”

  1. kman says:

    This is a fantastic album. So different from Gordon’s other Blue Note titles, but this is rapidly becoming a favorite of mine. Thank you!!!

  2. Peter says:

    Byrd is superb on this! Great album

Leave a Reply