Blue Mitchell – The Thing To Do


When Horace Silver disbanded his quintet of six years in 1964, Blue Mitchell, Junior Cook and Gene Taylor decided to stay together and form the nucleus of the Blue Mitchell Quintet. The band took shape that summer with newcomers Chick Corea and Al Foster. Mitchell has learned wellfrom his former employer; for this debut album he kept the emphasis on consummahe ultra hip groove of the title tune to the now classic “Footprints,” this is among the best.

Personnel: Blue Mitchell (trumpet); Blue Mitchell; Gene Taylor (bass instrument); Aloysius Foster, Al Foster (drums); Junior Cook (tenor saxophone); Chick Corea (piano).


01. Fungii Mama
02. Mona’s Mood
03. The Thing To Do
04. Step Lightly
05. Chick’s Tune

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Blue Mitchell – The Thing To Do”

  1. k says:

    This is a wonderful album, a perfect example of the Blue Note sound from the glory days of the hard bop era. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply