John Coltrane – Coltrane Jazz


John Coltrane’s work on Atlantic Records marked both his ascent as a leader and the refinement of his trademarked “sheets of sound” improvisational style. This 1961 release features Trane with a variety of celebrated bandmates: pianists Sonny Rollins, Wynton Kelly, and McCoy Tyner, bassists Steve Davis and Paul Chambers, and drummers Lex Humphries, Jimmy Cobb, and Elvin Jones. Stylistically, Trane spans some diverse musical territory. There’s his down-home and hypnotic takes on the blues, “Village Blues” and the Thelonius Monk-like “Harmonique.” Coltrane and his crew poetically and rhythmically remake the standard “My Shining Hour,” and “Like Sonny,” a shout-out to Sonny Rollins, is a dancing Afro-Latin excursion. This date offers a preview of the important music that Coltrane, Tyner, and Jones would unleash in a few years before the saxophonist’s death in 1967.

Personnel: John Coltrane (tenor saxophone); Wynton Kelly, McCoy Tyner, Cedar Walton (piano); Paul Chambers, Steve Davis (bass); Jimmy Cobb, Lex Humphries, Elvin Jones (drums).


01. Little Old Lad
02. Village Bluesy
03. My Shining Hour
04. Fifth House
05. Harmonique
06. Like Sonny
07. I’ll Wait And Pray
08. Some Other Blues
09. Like Sonny (Alternate Take)
10. I’ll Wait And Pray (Alternate Take)
11. Like Sonny (Alternate Take 5)
12. Village Blues (Alternate Take)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

2 Responses to “John Coltrane – Coltrane Jazz”

  1. Gustavo says:

    Just wanted to thank you. I have almost 40 Coltrane albums,
    and somehow this one I’ve forgotten.

    (tiny mistake when you said up there pianist Sonny Rollins)

    Thanks again!

  2. bmack225 says:

    Much thx!!!

Leave a Reply