Jackie McLean – Bluesnik


Many regard this as the greatest album of Jackie McLean’s career, and while there is a lot of competition for that honor, this is one of his most intriguing and satisfying works. McLean, Freddie Hubbard, and Kenny Drew all contribute tunes, and each is a unique and fascinating take of the blues. This album is a testament to infinite variety that this resilient music form has in the hands of true masters. This Rudy Van Gelder remaster has two alternate takes added to the original album.

Personnel: Jackie McLean (alto saxophone); Freddie Hubbard (trumpet); Kenny Drew (piano); Doug Watkins (bass instrument, bass guitar); Pete La Roca (drums).


01. Bluesnik
02. Goin’ Way Blues
03. Drew’s Blues
04. Cool Green
05. Blues Function
06. Torchin
07. Goin’ Way Blues (Alternate Take)
08. Torchin’ (Alternate Take)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply