George Benson – The New Boss Guitar Of George Benson


On this 1964 Prestige solo debut by George Benson, the revered guitarist enlists the support of his mentor, organ legend Jack McDuff, for a set of vintage soul jazz. Benson, only 21 years old at the time of the recording, clearly reveals the influences of Wes Montgomery and Charlie Christian in his dexterous playing. Even at this early stage, however, the young six-stringer displays a lyricism that’s all his own, as best revealed on the groove-laden “Sweet Alice Blues” and the simmering “I Don’t Know.” While McDuff graciously tones down his formidable key work to let his star pupil shine, saxophonist Red Holloway has no problem with making the occasional attempt (though rarely succeeding) to steal Benson’s thunder, as on the shuffling opener, “Shadow Dancers.” A far cry from Benson’s later R&B/pop work (“Gimme the Night,” etc.), the material on The New Boss Guitar Of George Benson is soul-tinged bop at its finest, and a key album in Benson’s remarkably long and varied career.

Personnel: George Benson (guitar); Red Holloway (tenor saxophone); Jack McDuff (piano, organ); Ronnie Boykins (bass); Montego Joe, Joe Dukes (drums).


01. Shadow Dancers
02. The Sweet Alice Blues
03. I Don’t Know
04. Just Another Sunday
05. Will You Still Be Mine
06. Easy Living
07. Rock-A-Bye
08. My Three Sons

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

3 Responses to “George Benson – The New Boss Guitar Of George Benson”

  1. Bluntaz says:

    thank you

  2. Hans Boffe says:


  3. Milon says:

    Great album, have an old damaged copy of this at home so never got to hear it in all its glory. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply