The Modern Jazz Quartet – Concorde


The first Modern Jazz Quartet album to feature drummer Connie Kay (replacing Kenny Clarke), 1955′s Concorde finds the ensemble easing into its long-running lineup, rounded out by vibes player Milt Jackson, pianist John Lewis, and bassist Percy Heath. In addition to originals by Jackson (the light, lilting “Ralph’s New Blues”) and Lewis (the bright, upbeat title track), the MJQ offers up an excellent selection of standards, most notably a fast-paced take on “I’ll Remember April” that has Kay earning his stripes with some impressive cymbal work.

The Modern Jazz Quartet: John Lewis (piano); Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Percy Heath (bass); Connie Kay (drums).


01. Ralph’s New Blues
02. All Of You
03. I’ll Remember April
04. Gershwin Medley: Soon / For You, For Me, Forevermore / Love Walked In / Our Love Is Here To Stay
05. Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise
06. Concorde

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed ZIPPYSHARE

One Response to “The Modern Jazz Quartet – Concorde”

  1. CeeJay says:

    Thank you . Many years ago I used to dis MJQ as “not jazz”. Now I am older and (maybe) wiser.

Leave a Reply