Wildcookie – Cookie Dough


Since his last release on Tru Thoughts in 2006 Freddie Cruger, aka Red Astaire, has been busy travelling the world as a DJ and releasing music on his own label, Homegrown Records – one of these releases was the debut, and now extremely rare, Wildcookie 12″. The Drugs EP received support from Gilles Peterson on BBC Radio 1 and the lead track, Cookie Dough, also features on Cookie Dough. Wildcookie is not a one man band though; each one of Freddie’s ultra-crisp productions and sophisticated synthline melodies are backed with the pitch perfect, often freestyled, vocals of Anthony Mills. Anthony Mills has toured extensively with Harry Belafonte’s All-Star Band, recorded with Krs-One, Amy Winehouse, Leela James, Maxi Priest, Snow, Sizzla, Dead Prez, Doc (Esthero), Sly Dunbar, Chinna Smith and Grace Bumbry. Mills has written over 1000 songs in this time and recorded well over 100 studio and live albums, providing lead vocals for two other duos – Super Viral Brothers (Pope/Universal) and XXLARGEMILLS. Every track on the album was selected by Cruger and Mills for its particular mood; based on flow, variety and content. Cookie Dough is the result of two friends working together with no boundaries, finding new routes into making soul, hip hop, R’n'B and breaks.

For more info and buy check: www.tru-thoughts.co.uk


01. Song With No Ending
02. Serious Drug
03. Jackson Miles
04. Skit
05. Flashy Flashy
06. Heroine
07. On The Road
08. Touchy Touchy
09. Piece Of Mind
10. Tuesday Is Friday
11. Come Closer
12. Something About Those Days
13. Autocoon
14. At The Same Time

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Wildcookie – Cookie Dough”

  1. Andrew says:

    A really great and fresh soul record…a really beautiful slow burner. It’s just something about them good ol’ days and the music they made. This has the same sort of aura and vibe. A real treat, I loved it.

Leave a Reply