Thad Jones – The Magnificent Thad Jones


This is a 1956 set by bop trumpeter Thad Jones, with an all-star small combo anchored by drummer Max Roach. The late Thad Jones is of jazz’s royal Jones family, which also includes brothers Hank (piano) and Elvin (drums). A fine trumpeter/flugelhornist (with a distinctively big, mellow tone) and an imaginative composer and engaging arranger, Jones made a name for himself with Charles Mingus and Count Basie. He would also co-lead one of the finest big bands of the 1960′s and ’70′s, the Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra. But in the ’50s, he helmed some fine hard bop sessions for Blue Note, and Magnificent lives up to its title. With the accompaniment of the superbly subtle drumming of Max Roach and piano by Detroit bop icon Barry Harris, one should require little else when seeking classic Blue Note bop-ery.

Personnel: Thad Jones (trumpet); Kenny Burrell (guitar); Billy Mitchell (tenor saxophone); Barry Harris (piano); Percy Heath (bass guitar); Max Roach (drums).


01. April In Paris
02. Billie-dOO
03. If I Love Again
04. If Someone Had Told Me
05. Thedia
06. I’ve Got A Crush On You
07. Something To Remember You By

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Thad Jones – The Magnificent Thad Jones”

  1. Michele says:

    OH MY GAWD!!!
    That’s what I call a treat!

Leave a Reply