John Coltrane – Blue Train


Blue Train is one of those ineffable sound recordings that actually seems to capture a moment of perfect artistry. Coltrane was in the midst of a Prestige recording contract but was able to honor a previous commitment to Blue Note and release this one album. With four Coltrane originals, including the haunting theme of the title track, and one standard, this recording showed Coltrane was becoming the complete package: player, composer, and bandleader. What distinguishes this session from the Prestige dates of the same time is the easy, relaxed, and obviously well-rehearsed playing of the group, and the usual masterful recording by Rudy van Gelder. This enhanced CD also features two alternate takes. The well-designed multimedia elements, including musician interviews and pictures from the famous van Gelder studio, round this stellar session into an experience that informs and delights over and over.


01. Blue Train
02. Moment’s Notice
03. Locomotion
04. I’m Old Fashioned
05. Lazy Bird
06. Blue Train (Alternate Take)
07. Lazy Bird (Alternate Take)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

3 Responses to “John Coltrane – Blue Train”

  1. Merkaba says:

    Such a classic. I’m Old Fashioned is such an amazing track

  2. News says:

    very funky, i like it :)

  3. Tiago says:

    Broken link! :/

Leave a Reply