George Benson – Beyond The Blue Horizon


George Benson has worn many hats throughout his career, from jazz-pop vocal star to soulful six-stringer, but his guitar god persona is probably exhibited best by Beyond The Blue Horizon (CTI, 1971). This album arrived five full years before Benson’s popularity would explode with Breezin’ (Warner Bros., 1976), and it presents this powerful instrumental presence in a no-nonsense, small group setting. Beyond The Blue Horizon is beyond what most instrumentalists ever achieve, and one of the crowning jewels in Benson’s discography.

Personnel: George Benson (guitar); Clarence Palmer (organ); Ron Carter (bass); Jack DeJohnette (drums); Michael Cameron, Albert Nicholson (percussion).


01. So WHAT
02. The Gentle Rain
03. All Clear
04. Ode To A Kadu
05. Somewhere In The East
06. All Clear (Alternate Take)
07. Ode To A Kadu (Alternate Take)
08. Somewere In The East (Alternate Take)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply