Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – The Freedom Ride


This is one of the best albums by Blakey’s Jazz Messengers, performed by one of his most star studded lineups. Performing infront of Blakey’s explosive drumming is Wayne Shorter on tenor, Lee Morgan on trumpet, Bobby Timmons on piano, and Jymie Merritt on bass. Most of the tracks were penned by Wayne Shorter or Lee Morgan and all feature high energy performances, especially by Wayne Shorter. His tenor is on fire as he delivers one knock out solo after another. His solo and his exchange with Lee Morgan on “El Toro” as well as his solo on the bonus track “Uptight” are stand outs. The entire group shows it’s soft touch on the one slow number, the bonus track “Pisces”. Blakey’s extended drum piece, “The Freedom Rider” gives the master plenty of room to stretch out and flex his considerable skill as one of Jazz’s all time great drummers. This is an exciting, hard swinging set of classic hard bop, and is easliy recommended.


01. Tell It Like It Is
02. Freedom Rider
03. El Toro
04. Petty Larceny
05. Blue Lace
06. Uptight
07. Pisces
08. Blue Ching

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

5 Responses to “Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – The Freedom Ride”

  1. fakkanguy says:

    Shit, I haven’t heard this particular record. I gotta say man, that is perhaps one of the coolest motherfucking covers of all time. Thanks for the share man. Looking forward to checking this shit out.

  2. mexcollector says:

    WTF!!!!! damage file, please check, I was download from mediafire and when extrac files, some songs are damage.

  3. guelda says:

    We really enjoy a freedom ride with those great musicians, Shorter is imperial. I prefer when solo drums pieces are placed during a song, but when it’s Blakey who plays, you shut up and listen ! Great compositions too.

    Thank you very much for sharing !

  4. kev says:

    yeah, this is a fantastic album. Many thanks.

Leave a Reply