John Coltrane – Kulu Se Mama


Kulu Se Mama is a somewhat neglected LP recorded by John Coltrane in 1965 during a key transitional stage in his career. Two of the album’s three lengthy tracks (“Vigil” and “Welcome”) feature the legendary saxophonist with his classic quartet (including bassist Jimmy Garrison, drummer Elvin Jones, and pianist McCoy Tyner). And these pieces have the open, exploratory, modal feel familiar to fans of Coltrane’s A Love Supreme period. “Kulu Se Mama” itself features an expanded line-up that includes saxophonist Pharoah Sanders, drummer Frank Butler, bassist and bass clarinetist Donald Garrett, and percussionist/singer Juno Lewis (who wrote the piece), with an African feel that includes layered polyrhythms and chanted vocals.

Personnel: John Coltrane (tenor saxophone, percussion, bells); Juno Lewis (vocals, conch shell, percussion); Donald Rafael Garrett (bass clarinet, percussion); Pharoah Sanders (tenor saxophone, kalimba, percussion); McCoy Tyner (piano); Frank Butler (drums, percussion, background vocals); Elvin Jones (drums).


01. Kulu Se Mama (Juno Se Mama)
02. Vigil
03. Welcome
04. Selflessness
05. Dust Dawn
06. Dust Dawn (Alternate Take)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply