Donald Byrd – Mustang!


After experimenting stylistically on 1963′s A New Perspective(the record included a gospel choir singing with a jazz septet), Donald Byrd returned to playing straight-ahead hard bop in the manner of his late-’50s and early-’60s Blue Note releases. Mustang is one such album–a recording of fine, swinging jazz of the quality one expects from Byrd and his associates. With the help of stellar personnel–including Hank Mobley and McCoy Tyner–Byrd burns through this excellent set.

In addition to cover tunes (Duke Ellington’s “I Got It Bad and That Ain’t Good” and Sylvester Kyner’s title cut), there are several Byrd originals. The boogaloo-themed “Dixie Lee” and the breakneck-paced “Fly Little Bird Fly” give the instrumentalists plenty of room to stretch out.


01. Mustang
02. Fly Little Bird Fly
03. I Got It Bad (and That Ain’t Good)
04. Dixie Lee
05. On The Trail
06. I’m So Excited By You
07. Gingerbread Boy
08. I’m So Excited By You (First Version)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Donald Byrd – Mustang!”

  1. Dope site man. Understated, but with plenty of quality joints posted.

    Love Infinite….

Leave a Reply