Chick Corea – Now He Sings, Now He Sobs


Although Chick Corea’s long career has garnered many stellar recordings, one of the best of the best is the phenomenal Now He Sings, Now He Sobs. A trio session with bassist Miroslav Vitous and drummer Roy Haynes, this is the disc that cemented Corea’s place in the jazz firmament as a pianist of incomparable skill. His percussive touch, fluid lines, and uniquely inventive approach to improvisation are all in full display.

Corea, Vitous, and Haynes greatly expand the scope of the piano trio as they pull and stretch the concept of group interaction to an entirely new plateau. From the bouncing excitement of Corea’s “Matrix” to the dark blaze of the burning “Step-What Was,” the trio moves as one, constantly arcing into new directions at every turn. Haynes, the elder of the three, is in particularly energetic form, providing a constant fire underneath the churning piano of Corea. Standout cuts include a mesmerizing interpretation of the classic “My One and Only Love,” Corea’s waltzing “Windows,” and the free-form Corea/Vitous duet “Gemini.”

Personnel: Chick Corea (piano); Miroslav Vitous (bass); Roy Haynes (drums).


01. Steps-What Was
02. Matrix
03. Now He Sings, Now He Sobs
04. Now He Beats The Drum-Now He Stops
05. The Law Of Falling And Catching Up
06. Samba Yantra
07. Bossa
08. I Don’t Know
09. Fragments
10. Windows
11. Gemini
12. Pannonica
13. My One and Only Love

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

2 Responses to “Chick Corea – Now He Sings, Now He Sobs”

  1. Muchas gracias por divulgarlo! Lo que haces es sensacional!

  2. anon says:

    This is one of the best jazz piano albums, period. It’s simply amazing, and timeless.

Leave a Reply